Our People

Matthew Ives

Our Musical Director is Matthew Ives!

Matthew hails from a Tasmanian family of musicians rich in talent and tales from years of involvement in jazz scenes and music teaching. Matthew has a background in a cappella singing. He was the founding member of and musical director for the highly successful a cappella choir, 'Big on Bass', as well as the founding member of the jazz quartet 'Breathless'. He is a honours graduate of the Tasmanian Conservatorium of Music, and these days is highly sought after for his drumming prowess, regularly supporting performers around Hobart and Tasmania, including Billy Whitton and the Hepcats, the Moonlight Aviators, the Hobart Jazz Club, Di Richards and Friends, Allison Farrow and Friends, Nadira and Friends, Jazz for Cows, and his own big band! Not to forget the next generation of performers, Matthew teaches at St Virgil's College and MacKillop Catholic College, along with directing Guilford College's annual musical production.

The choir first met Matthew when he guest conducted in 2015. He then supported the choir as part of the jazz ensemble at the Rosny Barn for the Swing, Stage and Show concert. It would seem that we couldn't keep him away, as he joined us on stage for our second Rosny Barn concert in May 2016 to sing, and again guest conducting a few times since, including our Glenview Nursing Home performance in June 2016.

Matthew is also well known to the choir through his big band shows at the Wrest Point Casino. He brought the band together in 2010 through his passion for big band swing and it has become Tasmania's premier big band. Our former accompanist, Iestyn Parry plays regularly in the big band (and also with Matthew at other 'with friends' gigs of Allison Farrow and Di Richards). The big band has 18 of Hobart's highest calibre and experienced jazz musicians, playing every third Wednesday of the month at the casino.

'Matthew and his Big Band' are the music engine room behind the highly successful stage show 'Croon'. Written, produced and performed by three of Hobart's leading men (John X, Colin Dean and Andrew Colrain), Croon is a tribute to the high-jinx, high balls and happy hour featuring the tunes and croons of Sinatra, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr and many more. The big band is on stage and part of the show, and Matthew steps out from behind the drums to sing too, well 'Hello Dolly'.

Joining us in 2015, accompanist of the Tasmanian Song Company is Thomas Misson!

Thomas is a composer, pianist and arranger whose music has been featured on ABC Classic FM and played by the Tasmanian Discovery Orchestra. He has an honours degree in music composition and has maintained regular accompaniment work since 2011, regularly supporting choirs, student examinations and auditions for conservatorium and orchestral piano work. He has played with the Tasmanian Discovery Orchestra and Hobart Wind Symphony.

An experienced performer, Tom holds an LmusA in piano. The LMusA is a diploma awarded by examination to outstanding candidates in the fields of musical performance and music theory by the Australian Music Examinations Board (The Licentiate in Music, Australia). He has taken out many of the open prizes at the Hobart Eisteddfods, including the Nelle Ashdown memorial award.

Tom's 2016 composition for solo violin, Kunanyi Ascent was especially written for Emily Sheppard and depicts a matutinal experience of kunanyi full of panflute, birdsong and rustling of vegetation. Kunanyi is the first and Indigenous name for Mount Wellington in Tasmania.

Tom loves playing 20th century repertoire and the challenges of playing new pieces. In his spare time, he works for music journalism publication CutCommon and teaches piano and composition privately: he is a tough opponent on the tennis court!


Office Bearers

President - Maree Richards
Vice President - Helen Chapman
Secretary - Anne Temple-Smith
Treasurer - Liz Oakley
Librarian - Sandra Pullen


Jack Lane
Jean Gray
Julie Roughton
Stan Kemsley


Angela Woodward
Hannah Windle
Julie Roughton
Kathryn Miller
Kathy Turner
Lorraine Brinckman
Lynne Bertram
Maggie Mead
Sandra Pullen


Anne Temple-Smith
Jean Gray
Liz Oakley
Maree Richards
Pat Phillips


Annette Barratt
Amanda Harper
Catherine Schofield
Helen Chappers
Jane Maarseveen
Janette Bryant
Kate Dobson
Maple Chung
Pam Sangwell
Patricia Hennessy
Suzie Gaynor
Tomoko Chida


Eddie Burger
Stan Kemsley


Ewan Anderson
Jack Lane
Nick Beeton